Transitions
Since the seasons are changing I think that I will pack up
all of my winter stuff and just put it to the side. I am going to pack up my kitchen as well and
just leave out a few things to cook with.
We will use paper plates, cups, and plastic forks and spoons from here
on out. I am confident that my boys
really don’t care…just as long as they have something to eat on and with.
I have been taking a lot of “flack” from my friends and
relatives that like in the DMV area.
“Why are you moving” “Do you have
to move now” “We are going to miss
you”. All of these questions make it
hard for me to move on. I have been
spending more and more time with my friends.
For spring break a couple of my girlfriends and I took our kids to New Jersey for a couple
of days. We all stayed in the same hotel
suite. We took them to the indoor water park and to an indoor amusement park as
well. The kids really enjoyed themselves
and really bonded. We have planned
another mini vacation for spring break 2015.
Planning our next vacation let me know that although I won’t be in the
same area as they are does not mean that we can’t hang out when I am here or go
on vacations. I can still communicate
via text, email, phone, and Facebook. I
will miss my little weekend getaways with my girls though but I am not that far
away whereas I can’t come back for the weekend.
Yesterday I actually went on a movie date with a guy that I went to high
school with. We actually reconnected on
Facebook. I didn’t remember him but he
remembered me. We have talked casually
on the phone and via Facebook. Yesterday
was the first time that we actually went out.
It was really nice. I felt
obligated to let him know that I was moving at the end of June. I didn’t want to lead him on or anything so I
just let him know that we can hang out while I am still here….not a
problem. That’s another thing that is on
my mind….will I find a male suitor down there….no let me reverse that….will a
male suitor find me lol. I am sure that
there are plenty of single men down there….I just hope not down low lol. Well I find out soon enough.
I basically know that DMV like the back of my hand. I know all of the little shortcuts; I know
the routes on the highway, off the highway….95, 495, 395, 695, 895…yeah all the
95’s. Now I have to learn my way around
the area. I have to purchase a gps so
that I won’t get lost. Oh the
horror….just kidding. Anyway, going into
the unknown is always scary. I have
always been a simple person. I don’t
like to stray too far away from my comfort zone. Going outside of the 9 dots is simply a no-no
for me unless it’s work-related. I still
have not found a place to live yet. If I
keep procrastinating I will be living in a box.
I have gone online and viewed some properties. The cost of living is much cheaper than
living here in Maryland. That is a major plus when I weigh the pros
and cons of moving to NC. I just wonder
if the neighborhoods are integrated, will my son have a choice of extracurricular
activities in the area or will I have to travel “afar” for him to participate
in the things that he likes to do. I
have questioned several friends, family, and co-workers about NC and so far the
responses have all been positive. I am
looking forward to not arising at 4am every morning. I am sure that my work commute will be
substantially less than it is now.
My new job will be in Cary
NC. I am looking forward to meeting new people
and making new friends. I wonder if the
people in the building are friendly or if they are receptive to new people
coming into their group. A part of me
says “girl it doesn’t matter….you are not there to make friend…you are there to
get a paycheck!” but the sane part of me
says that it will be much better and smoother if you can co-exist peacefully
amongst your peers. It’s not that I ever
have a problem with meeting new people or working within a team….I guess it’s
just the jitters taking over. The closer
my time gets the more anxious I get. I
have to tell myself to get it together and just enjoy the experience. Alas is fast approaching for me to bid my
current co-workers adieu. I will miss
them dearly. We hang out after
work…movies, restaurants, happy hour. I
can recall one Friday when a couple of us got together and went to a spot
called Velocity Five. We had a really
nice time. I even got hit on by a dude
that was a couple of years older than my daughter…..ewwwlll….that kinda messed
me up lol. He was really nice and had
nice conversation but uh no…can’t do that one….even for the vine! I will miss times like those because when we
returned to work on that Monday it was on.
I have one co-worker that “can’t hold water”….she talked about that dude
coming over and talking to me ALL DAY LONG! Girl get yo life! I was flattered but that’s definitely a no-no
for me.
No comments:
Post a Comment